San Antonio, Texas Suspended Driver’s License Lawyers
Texas Suspended Driver’s License Attorneys
SUSPENDED DRIVER’S LICENSE
If your driver’s license or driving privileges have been suspended in the State of Texas, contact our Suspended Driver’s License Lawyers immediately for a free consultation.
Our suspended driver’s license attorneys can represent you in court at Administrative License Revocation Hearings (ALRs), TXDPS Driver’s License Suspension Hearings and can even help you get an Occupational License.
Call our Suspended Driver’s License lawyers now at (210) 722-9089 and receive a free consultation. Our attorneys will explain your current driver’s license status, what you can do get back on the road legally and the cost associated with our services.
DRIVING WHILE LICENSE SUSPENDED
Under Texas law, Driving While License Invalid (also known as DWLI) is generally a Class C misdemeanor and punishable with a fine up to $500.00 for first time offenses. However, the underlying reason your license was suspended or revoked may result in more serious penalties. Therefore, it is extremely important that you consult with one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys so we can explain the options available in your particular case.
Driving While License Invalid Penalties
According to the Texas Penal Code, driving while your license is suspended can result in the penalties listed below:
Class C Misdemeanor –
- Generally a DWLS offense is punishable as a Class C misdemeanor for a first offense. This degree of offense can result in a fine up to $500.
Class B Misdemeanor –
- A DWLS offense is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor if the offender has previously been convicted of this type of offense, they were operating the vehicle without valid insurance at the time of the offense, or their license has previously been suspended from committing a DWI offense.
- An individual who is convicted of this degree of misdemeanor (Class B) could face up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine not more than $2,000.
Class A Misdemeanor –
- This offense is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor offense if the individual was operating a vehicle without valid insurance and caused death or serious bodily injury to another person.
- A conviction for this offense (Class A) can result in a jail sentence up to one year and/or a fine up to $4,000.
Reasons your license may be suspended in the State of Texas
- Failure to take care of traffic violations or citations (active warrants).
- DWI’s (convictions, breath and blood test refusals, breath and blood test failures)
- Drug Offenses
- Habitual Traffic Offenders (four or more moving violations in one year, or seven convictions in two years)
- No Insurance Tickets
- Failure to Pay Surcharges
- Automobile Accident Judgment (driver did not have insurance to cover the accident)
- Criminally Negligent Homicide while driving a vehicle
- Fleeing the police in a vehicle
- Leaving the scene of an accident with injury or death
- Criminal Mischief
- Not paying Child Support
- Driving with your license suspended – DWLS (causes an additional suspension)
- Habitually reckless or negligent operation of a motor vehicle
- Fraudulent use of your driver’s license
- Violation of a restriction endorsement on your license
- Has been responsible as a driver for any accident causing serious injury or serious property damage
- Has a provisional license under 521.123 and convicted of two or more moving violations in a year – or fleeing from an officer.
- Incapacity due to medical or mental reasons (including drug / alcohol dependency issues
- Intoxication Assault (causing an injury in an accident while intoxicated).
- Failure to register as a Sex Offender
- Taking fuel without payment
- Racing on a public highway
- Employment of an unlicensed driver
- Renting a vehicle to an unlicensed driver
Protect your rights.
Contact our Suspended Driver’s License Lawyers today.
Call (210) 722-9089.
Se Habla Español.